Houston, TX Hit & Run Attorney
Hit & run cases are frightening, and should be addressed quickly. In the state of Texas criminal cases involving vehicle accidents, in which property damage or personal injury resulted, where the responsible party left the scene without leaving information or rendering aid, are referred to as Failure To Stop & Give Information (FSGI) & Failure To Stop & Render Aid (FSRA) offenses.
FSGI, FSRA, and The Law
The law in Texas is clear; if a person is driving their vehicle and they accidentally cause property damage or an injury, they’re required to immediately address the situation by giving aid to the injured party and/or giving contact information to the owner of any damaged property.
The law is also clear about leaving the scene of an accident without giving aid or sharing contact information; it’s illegal.
Whether or not loss of life occurred as a result of the accident, in addition to other circumstances, will be determining factors as to whether or not the Harris County District Attorney’s Office charges the alleged perpetrator with a misdemeanor or felony.
If you’re convicted in the court of law for leaving the scene of an accident, a legal standard aimed at punishing evasion & responsibility abandonment, there are serious repercussions.
If you’re convicted of not stopping after an accident you’ll face serious monetary fines, potential jail sentencing, a criminal record that will follow you for the rest of your life, and the suspension or revocation of your Texas drivers license.
The Law: Plain and Simple
Sec. 550.023. DUTY TO GIVE INFORMATION AND RENDER AID
The operator of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in the injury or death of a person or damage to a vehicle that is driven or attended by a person shall:
- give the operator’s name and address, the registration number of the vehicle the operator was driving, and the name of the operator’s motor vehicle liability insurer to any person injured or the operator or occupant of or person attending a vehicle involved in the collision;
- if requested and available, show the operator’s driver’s license to a person described by Subdivision (1); and
- provide any person injured in the accident reasonable assistance, including transporting or making arrangements for transporting the person to a physician or hospital for medical treatment if it is apparent that treatment is necessary, or if the injured person requests the transportation.
Sec. 550.024. DUTY ON STRIKING UNATTENDED VEHICLE.
- (a) The operator of a vehicle that collides with and damages an unattended vehicle shall immediately stop and:
- locate the operator or owner of the unattended vehicle and give that person the name and address of the operator and the owner of the vehicle that struck the unattended vehicle; or
- leave in a conspicuous place in, or securely attach in a plainly visible way to, the unattended vehicle a written notice giving the name and address of the operator and the owner of the vehicle that struck the unattended vehicle and a statement of the circumstances of the collision.
- (b) A person commits an offense if the person violates Subsection
- (a) An offense under this section is:
- a Class C misdemeanor, if the damage to all vehicles involved is less than $200; or
- a Class B misdemeanor, if the damage to all vehicles involved is $200 or more.
Sec. 550.025. DUTY ON STRIKING STRUCTURE, FIXTURE, OR HIGHWAY LANDSCAPING.
- (a) The operator of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting only in damage to a structure adjacent to a highway or a fixture or landscaping legally on or adjacent to a highway shall:
- take reasonable steps to locate and notify the owner or person in charge of the property of the accident and of the operator’s name and address and the registration number of the vehicle the operator was driving;
- if requested and available, show the operator’s driver’s license to the owner or person in charge of the property; and
- report the accident if required by Section 550.061.
- (b) A person commits an offense if the person violates Subsection (a). An offense under this section is:
- a Class C misdemeanor, if the damage to all fixtures and landscaping is less than $200; or
- a Class B misdemeanor, if the damage to all fixtures and landscaping is $200 or more.
Contact Tad Nelson & Associates
The Law Offices of Tad Nelson & Associates has been instrumental in successfully defending hundreds of Houstonians accused of Hit & Run Offenses.
If you know you hit someone or damaged the property of someone, and want to address the situation or if you were already criminally charged in Houston for a hit-and-run offense like FSGI or FSRA, call 713-489-7373 for help. Ask for either attorney Tad Nelson or attorney Amber Spurlock.