2nd Offense DWI Cases
Charged with DWI in Houston a Second Time?
Don’t Enter a Guilty Plea! Call Tad Nelson.
If you were arrested and subsequently convicted for Driving While Intoxicated a second time in the state of Texas, the penalties are more severe than the penalties for first-offense DWI cases. If convicted of the offense, it could mean up to a year in the Harris County Jail.
If you need to talk with a skilled defense lawyer following a second DWI charge, we highly recommend contacting our legal team immediately by calling 713-489-7373. Houston DWI defense lawyer Tad A. Nelson will provide solutions for your defense & sound advice on the best path forward in light of the situation.
Potential Penalties For 2nd Offense DWI Conviction
FINE: Up to $4000 for a second DWI offense in the state of Texas.
IMPRISONMENT: You may have to serve a Harris County jail sentence that can last from 30 days to one year.
TEXAS DRIVERS LICENSE: Your Texas Driver License may be suspended for a period of 180 days to two years.
In addition to the penalties listed above, one should also consider the consequences of having a new criminal case cited on your background record. A criminal history following you around may cause problems in your professional career in addition to far more harsh treatment by the legal system in the event of a future offense.
You May Be Able To Avoid Jail
Not all convictions for 2nd DWI offenses in Houston result in a court sentencing the guilty party to a lengthy jail sentence. Eligibility for community service (probation) remains a strong possibility even for persons arrested and convicted of a second Texas DWI offense.
Community supervision is not guaranteed to be available for the second time offender as is the case with first-time DWI offenders, but Houston DWI attorneys Tad Nelson and Amber Spurlock have experience working with the court to gain a probationary arrangement in some of the most challenging cases.
If you are allowed to take advantage of probation for your second DWI offense in Texas, the length of the probationary period will likely last for two years.
You’ll be required to serve some jail time as a condition of your probation agreement. Applicable prison sentences normally amount to a maximum of 30 days Harris County jail time. This is minimal jail time which can be broken up over periods as is common with “weekenders”; people who serve their time on the weekends.
In addition to the requirements imposed by the court as conditions of your probation, you’ll be required to have a breathalyzer device installed in your vehicle. You’ll also have to complete up to 200 hours of community service work, and report to your probation officer as required.
Call & Talk with a Lawyer For Help
If you have any additional questions about the potential to beat your DWI charge in court, or if you need to consult with one of our highly trained DWI attorneys, don’t hesitate to contact our law office.
We’re ready to help you fight prosecution attempts by the District Attorney’s Office. If you need to run the details of your case by an attorney with experience litigating DWI cases Houston, Harris County, Texas, contact Attorney Tad A. Nelson by calling 713-489-7373.